J P Nadda all set to become new BJP chief

Last Modified Monday, 20 January 2020 (11:17 IST)
New Delhi:is all set to become the 11th national president of the ruling (BJP) succeeding one of the most successful party chiefs Amit Shah.
Born on December 2, 1960 to Narain Lall Nadda and Krishna Nadda, Jagat Prakash was educated at St Xavier's School, Patna.Thereafter he did his BA from Patna College, Patna University and LLB from Himachal Pradesh University, Shimla.
Sources said a number of senior leaders including from states and newly elected state unit chiefs are likely to file the nomination papers in support of 59-year old Mr Nadda.
Mr Shah and another former party chief Nitin Gadkari are also likely to file nomination papers in favour of Mr Nadda.
Under Mr Shah between 2014 and 2019, the has grown as an organisation at various levels especially in states where it hardly had presence previously.
The list of states where BJP has able to make its presence felt and also capture power include Tripura - once a Leftist bastion. Similarly, the saffron party has emerged as a serious challenger to Mamata Banerjee-led Trinamool Congress in West Bengal.
Mr Nadda's taking over the affairs of the party comes days before BJP faces a stiff electoral battle against AAP in Delhi wherein it is struggling to get back to power since last 22 years.
At the age of 50 when elected as party chief, was the youngest to occupy the post in 2014. Essentially, he replaced Rajnath Singh, who had then moved as the Union Home Minister. 
BJP's presidents include founding fathers Atal Bihari Vajpayee and patriarch L K Advani, who has been the longest serving party chief for a period of 11 years spanning over three terms.
However, Mr Advani's last stint was marred by controversies and in 2005 he had to move out following much resentment in the saffron camp for his 'Jinnah was a secular leader' remark.
Rajnath Singh had succeeded Advani in December 2005 but his first stint was not successful as the party had failed to return to power in the centre in 2009 polls.
However, in his second term from January 2013 till mid 2014, Mr Rajnath has to his credit for leading the party to major electoral win after having made Narendra Modi the party's prime ministerial face brushing aside objections from towering leaders such as Advani and 'reservation' by several others.
List of BJP's presidents include : Atal Bihari Vajpayee (first after formation of the party in 1980), L K Advani (three terms), Murli Manohor Joshi, Kushabhau Thakre, Bangaru Laxman (first Dalit BJP chief), Jana Krishnamurthi, M Venkaiah Naidu, Rajnath Singh (two terms),  Nitin Gadkari and Amit Shah.
In June 2019, J P Nadda was appointed as the working president - first time in the party - as a prelude to his election as the new organisational head of the saffron party.
Known for his amiable personality, Nadda is seen as the choice of both Prime Minister Narendra Modi and Mr Shah for the job.(UNI)