Widgets Magazine

Congress grabs 946 seats in the ULB election in K'taka

Last Modified Tuesday, 4 September 2018 (11:08 IST)
Bengaluru: Congress, which lost power in the May 12 Karnataka  Assembly elections scored a morale-boosting victory in the urban local body elections winning 946 seats out of 2527 seats.
BJP which had emerged as the single largest party by winning 104 seats in the May 12  election, has been pushed to second place in the August 31 elections winning only 875 seats, while JDS--the partner of in the  Coalition Government had won 345 seats. Independents have emerged victories in 315 seats, Bahujan Samaj Party, which made inroad in the  Assembly election and even saw that their leader S R Mahesh was included in the cabinet, has won 12 seats.  Others have won 34 seats.
In the election held to three Municipal Corporations, BJP has marched ahead by winning 54 seats, Congress 36, JDS 30, Independent 14 and BSP One.  While in Shivamogga BJP has emerged as a single largest party by winning  20 seats, in Tumakuru and Mysuru there is all likelihood of JDS and  Congress joining hands to prevent BJP from coming to power.
As many as 30 candidates have been declared a select unanimously.(UNI)
Widgets Magazine