Widgets Magazine

Over 96 pc voting recorded in polling for Vice-President's office

Last Modified Saturday, 5 August 2017 (17:14 IST)
New Delhi: As many as 761 Members of Parliament out of 785 eligible voters in the electoral college cast their votes for the election to the Office of the Vice -President till 1500 hrs. Assistant Returning Officer for the Vice President polls - Mukul Pandey told reporters that the voting turnout so far comes to 96.94 per cent of the electoral college.

The voting will take place till 1700 hrs. Prime Minister Narendra Modi, NDA nominee M Venkaiah Naidu, Union Ministers, celebrities and nominated members Sachin Tendulkar, Rekha and Mary Kom were among the early voters at the ongoing voting for election to the office of the Vice-President.
Among others Congress president Sonia Gandhi, former Prime Minister Manmohan Singh, BJP patriarch L K Advani, senior Congress leaders Mallikrajun Kharge, Ghulam Nabi Azad, Anand Sharma, and K C Venugopal also exercised their right to elect the new Vice-President. Lawmakers were in general jovial mood interacting with each other freely setting aside party differences. Actress-turned-MP Rekha posed for photographs before the lensmen and also stood alongside Samajwadi Party MP Dimple Yadav for a photo opportunity. (UNI)
Widgets Magazine