Widgets Magazine

Voting day in Rajasthan and Telangana

Last Modified Friday, 7 December 2018 (11:15 IST)
Jaipur: Around 6.11 per cent voter turnout was recorded till 9 am on Friday amidst tight security in all 199 assembly segments.The voting for one assembly segment in Alwar's Ramgarh seat has been cancelled due to death of a BSP candidate.
Het Vyas, Additional media incharge of said, ?Till 9am, 6.11 per cent of total voters cast their franchise.
"Every single vote counts. We have to cast our vote today by thinking who is actually taking the nation forward," Union Minister Rajyavardhan Singh Rathore told reporters here.
Chief Minister Vasundhara Raje who is contesting from Jhalrapatan constituency cast her vote in her home turf.
Home minister Gulab Chand Kataria also cast his vote in Udaipur.Rajasthan Congress chief Sachin Pilot, who is contesting from Tonk constituency, caste his vote in Jaipur.When asked about the Congress party's chief ministerial candidate, he told media persons, that the party will deliberate on that after winning a majority in Rajasthan.
The polling for 51,687 booth across the state began at 8am. There are a total of 2274 candidates who are in the fray for making an entry into Rajasthan assembly in Jaipur.
10.15 pc votes in till 9am
Hyderabad: Brisk polling was reported in parts of Telangana in the initial hours of election being held for the 119-assembly seats, on Friday.
Governor ESL Narasimhan, his wife  Vimala Narasimhan, Principal Secretary Harpreet Singh and GHMC Commissioner and Hyderabad district Election Officer Dana Kishore were among the first to cast their votes as polling began at 7 am  across 31 districts in the state, amid unprecedented security.
According to State Chief Electoral Office  here, by 9 AM, 10.15 per cent voters had exercised their franchise. The voting is going on peacefully at all the polling stations barring some minor problems. 
The polling will end at 5 pm in 106 assembly segments, while in 13 constituencies which were classified as Left Wing Extremism-affected, polling ends  an  hour earlier.
The highest polling of 11 per cent was recorded at Warangal district in the first two hours while Hyderabad district recorded lowest  7.39 per cent polling.
At some places, EVMs developed minor technical problems but it was restored immediately.
Former Union Minister Bandaru Dattatreya , former Rajya Sabha MP and film actor  K Chiranjeevi, BJP state President Laxman, former MLA G Kishan Reddy,  Telangana Pradesh Congress Committee President Uttam Kumar Reddy, film actors  Nagarjuna,  Nandamuri Balakrishna, Jr NTR also turned up early to caste their votes.
Over 2.8 crore electorate including 1.39 crore woman were registered to exercise their franchise in the state, which had a total of 32,815 polling stations.
As many as 1,821 candidates, including a transgender and 139 female candidates, besides 631 independents were in the frayand the counting of votes would be taken up on December 11 along with Chhattisgarh, Madhya Pradesh Rajasthan and Mizoram.(UNI)
Widgets Magazine