Widgets Magazine

RS poll in Goa ends, all 28 MLAs cast their votes

Last Modified Friday, 21 July 2017 (15:17 IST)
Panaji: All the 38 MLAs in Goa cast their votes in the Rajya Sabha elections, which were held today at the State Legislative Assembly at Porvorim near the city. The polling started at 1000 hrs and ended at around 1200 hrs. While state unit president is Rajya Sabha candidate from the party and has support of coalition partners (GFP), (MGP) and independents.

Congress has fielded incumbent Rajya Sabha member and Goa Pradesh Congress Committee (GPCC) President Shantaram Naik as its candidate. In the 40-member House, Congress has 16 MLAs, BJP 12, and three each, Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) one and three independents. Two seats are vacant as MLAs from Valpoi and Panaji have resigned.

However, in the wake of cross-voting in the presidential election yesterday, cross voting in Rajya Sabha election can not be denied. The Congress had called its Legislature Party meeting in the morning. Speaking to reporters, BJP MLA from Mapusa said if there was cross-voting in elections yesterday then it could be today also. (UNI)
Widgets Magazine