Widgets Magazine

Seven Rohingya deported to Myanmar

Last Modified Thursday, 4 October 2018 (18:21 IST)
Imphal:Seven were today deported to by Indian authorities at the Indian border town of Moreh. The seven persons were brought to Manipur from yesterday. They reached the border town in the morning and the process of handing over the seven persons to Myanmar authorities went on for several hours.
Indian and Myanmar authorities gathered at Indo Myanmar friendship gate No 2 around 1330 hours and handed over the seven persons to Myanmar authorities. The seven persons were identified as Md Inus of Keito (Badarpara), ps Cheptak (Kaito), Faida, Myanmar, Md Sabir Ahmed of Cheptak, dist Faida, Myanmar, Md Jamal, of Badarpara, ps Kaito, dist Faida, Myanmar,  Md Salam, Kaito, dist Faida, Md Mukbul Khan, dist Faida, Myanmar, Md Jamal Hussain, dist Faida, Myanmar, Md Rohimuddin, Kaito, dist Faida, Myanmar.
This is the first time any Rohingya has been deported to Myanmar from Indian soil. The Supreme Court of India today had turned down a plea to stop the deportation to Myanmar.
All the seven persons were in a jail in Assam since  2012. The seven persons were brought to the border under tight security by Manipur Police, Assam Police and other security personnel.
Widgets Magazine
Read more on : Myanmar Rohingya Assam Rakhine