Widgets Magazine

United Left sweeps JNUSU Polls 2017

Last Modified Sunday, 10 September 2017 (12:32 IST)
New Delhi: The United-Left Alliance has won all the four seats in the Jawaharlal Nehru University Student's Union (JNUSU) polls 2017. United Left Panel comprising All India Students’ Association (AISA), the Students Federation of India (SFI) and the Democratic Students’ Federation (DSF) has won the central panel seats in the polls.

The contest was mainly between Akhil Bharatiya Vidyarthi Parishad (ABVP) – the student wing of Rashtriya Swayamsevak Sangh (RSS) and the Left affiliated student wings. Geeta Kumari, who was contesting from United Left Panel, has won the president's post by defeating Nidhi Tripathi of by a margin of 464 votes. In the elections, 4,620 votes out of the total 4,639 votes polled were declared valid, the poll officials said. AISA's Simone Zoya Khan won the vice president's post by defeating Durgesh Kumar of ABVP.

Out of total 4,620 votes, Ms Khan got 1,876 votes while Durgesh Kumar got 1028 votes, the poll official said. Duggirala Srikrisha (United Left Panel) won the General Secretary's post and he got 2082 votes. Shubhanshu Singh (United Left Panel) won the post of Joint Secretary and he got 1755 votes. The poll official said, 31 councillors have been elected for different positions in Student Union (SU).

Most of the student organisations including and ABVP had fielded women candidates for presidential positions in Student Union (SU). Voting for Jawaharlal Nehru University Student's Union (JNUSU) was held at the varsity's campus here on September 8. (UNI)
Widgets Magazine