Widgets Magazine

Voting for DUSU polls underway

Last Modified Tuesday, 12 September 2017 (11:55 IST)
New Delhi: Voting to elect the new office bearers of (DUSU) is underway at the varsity's campus here. The polling, which began at 0830 hrs here this morning for the regular day classes students, will conclude at 1230 hrs. The evening classes students will get a chance to vote from 1500 hrs to 1900 hrs.

The main contest is between RSS-affiliated student wing Akhil Bharatiya Vidyarthi Parishad (ABVP) and Congress students organisation National Students Union of India (NSUI). The student organisation is eyeing to win all the four posts while is hopeful that it would bring back its lost glory in the varsity.
Altogether ten candidates are in the fray for the post of union president. has fielded Rajat Choudhary while Congress led wing, Rocky Tuseed, student of the varsity's Department of Buddhist Studies. Student Federation of India (SFI) has fielded Rafat Alam and Parul Chauhan from All India Students Association (AISA). For the posts of vice-president and general secretary, there are five candidates each in the fray and four for the post of joint-secretary. ABVP's Parth Rana is contesting for the vice-president's post while NSUI has fielded Kunal Sehrawat.
Other candidates fielded by ABVP and NSUI for the post of general secretary and joint secretary are Mahamedhaa Nagar, Uma Shankar, Meenakshi Meena and Avinash Yadav respectively. The voting is being conducted with EVMs. The results are likely to be announced tomorrow. In 2016 polls, ABVP had won three seats, while NSUI only one post. (UNI)
Widgets Magazine