Widgets Magazine

All eyes on Raj Bhawan as CM resigns, both Congress, BJP claim majority

Last Modified Tuesday, 14 March 2017 (11:23 IST)
Imphal: Chief Minister, Okram Ibobi Singh, who has been in the chair for the last 15 years tendered his resignation last night. He submitted his papers to the Governor, Dr last night . Both Congress and have claimed majority. Ibobi was elected leader of Congress Legislature Party and Nongthombam Biren as the leader of the BJP Legislature Party. Ibobi said the Governor should invite the Congress as it is the single largest political party in the present Assembly with 28 seats.

He said the Trinamul MLA, four NPP members have extended support to the Congress and there is no question of any defection from the Congress. BJP on the other hand has asked the Governor to invite the BJP to form the government as it has shown the majority in front of the Governor. Governor Dr Heptulla told UNI on Monday that she will go by the book. Dr Heptulla with a long experience of Parliamentary politics has started consultation with legal experts on the issue. The attention of all has not shifted to the Raj Bhawan. It is likely that the formal invitation may be extended to the BJP to form the government has it has shown the numbers to the Governor in person.

The BJP with 21 members has paraded four members of National People’s Party (NPP), four members of Naga People’s Front (NPF), one member each of LJP and Congress. Congress MLA, Th Shyamkumar was also present in the show of strength at Raj Bhawan. The BJP has also claimed that the lone Independent and Trinamul MLA have also extended the support to BJP alliance. Nongthombam Biren a national level footballer turned journalist turned politician was elected for the first time in 2002 as a candidate of Democratic Revolutionary Peoples Party from Heingang.

He later joined the Indian National Congress (INC) and in May 2003 became Minister of State of Vigilance . in 2007 he became Minister of Irrigation & Flood Control and Youth Affairs & Sports. In 2012 he was elected, However he was not given any ministerial berth in the government. On the eve of the elections, he resigned from Congress and joined BJP and retained the seat. (UNI)
Widgets Magazine