Widgets Magazine

Srinagar LS bypoll: NC patron Farooq Abdullah wins

Last Modified Saturday, 15 April 2017 (16:25 IST)
Srinagar: (NC) president emerged winner of the Lok Sabha seat of by defeating of in the Bypoll. Earlier National Conference (NC) president Farooq Abdullah took a massive lead of 9,705 votes over ruling PDP candidate Nazir Ahmad Khan after the end of sixth round of counting for the by-polls to Srinagar Parliamentary seat. An election officer told UNI that till 1200 hrs, Dr Abdullah has received 29,839 votes, followed by Mr Khan at 20,134 votes.

Meanwhile, 542 voters have chosen ‘None of the Above’, which is much higher than votes secured by any of the other seven candidates individually. Eight people died and over 100 others injured in security force and police action during by-poll to Srinagar Lok Sabha seat on April 9.
Over 150 security personnel were also injured in stone pelting by anti poll protesters during the polling following which authorities ordered re-polling at 38 polling stations which was later held on April 13 when only 2 per cent votes were polled. The counting of votes was taken up at S K International Convention Complex (SKICC).
Widgets Magazine