Widgets Magazine

ICC U-19 World Cup: India to face Australia in campaign opener

Last Updated: Thursday, 17 August 2017 (16:35 IST)
Dubai: The (ICC) today announced the fixtures of the upcoming under-19 World Cup, scheduled to be held in New Zealand next year from January 13.While hosts New Zealand will begin their campaign against Defending champions West Indies, three-time champion will take on in their campaign opener.Apart from Australia, and have been put in the same group with India.

“The U19 World Cup plays an important role in the progression of young talent onto the global stage.The list of past and current players who had their first taste of a major event at this tournament is a long one and I have no doubt we’ll be witnessing some of tomorrow’s stars in New Zealand next year,” ICC Head of Events Chris Tetley said in a statement.

On the other side, Tournament Director Brendan Bourke said,"This will be the most accessible international event ever staged throughout New Zealand, with free entry to all games, so we look forward to opening the gates to our match venues in a little under five months’ time." The tournament, which will run between January 13- February 3, will feature 16 teams, which have been divided in four groups.

The finals will be played at Bay Oval, Mount Maunganui.

Group A: Windies, New Zealand, South Africa, Kenya
Group B: India, Australia, Zimbabwe, Papua New Guinea
Group C:
Bangladesh, Canada, England, Namibia
Group D: Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Afghanistan, Scotland (UNI)
Widgets Magazine
Widgets Magazine