Widgets Magazine

India aiming to continue dominance in T20I series against Proteas

Last Modified Sunday, 18 February 2018 (15:36 IST)
Johannesburg: After a historic One-Day International (ODI) series victory, Team will aim to continue their dominance in the shortest format of the game when they take on hosts in the first Twenty20 International (T20I) of the three-match series at the New Wanderers Stadium here on Sunday.

Under the leadership of Virat Kohli, the men in blue excelled in all the departments of the game in the 50-over format against the Proteas and the Indian team management will be expecting them carry their momentum further.

The Indian batting will once again rely mainly on openers Rohit Sharma and Shikhar Dhwawan beside Kohli and MS Dhoni while Hardik Pandya can once again be a game changer down the order. Also, the inclusion of T20 specialist Suresh Raina in the side will further add to their strengths.

In the bowling department, the new wrist-spin sensation duo of Yuzvendra Chahal and Kuldeep Yadav could again create troubles in the South African batting order while pacers Jasprit Bumrah and Bhuvneshwar Kumar will also add depth to Indian bowling line-up.

On the other hand, in the absence of regular skipper Faf du Plessis Proteas, the Proteas will be led by Jean-Pau Duminy, who will be looking up for some vital contribution from AB de Villiers, David Miller and all-rounder Chris Morris.
The hosts's bowling department in the absence of Morne Morkel and Kasigo Rabda will be led by pacers Andile Phehlukwayo and Morris while the spin department will bank upon Tabraiz Shamsi, who all will have to dish out something special to stop the inform India batsmen.


India- (C) Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, Lokesh Rahul, Suresh Raina, Mahendra Singh Dhoni (wk), Dinesh Karthik, Hardik Pandya, Manish Pandey, Axar Patel, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah, Jaydev Unadkat, Shardul Thakur

South Africa- Jean-Paul Duminy (C), Farhaan Behardien, Junior Dala, AB de Villiers, Reeza Hendricks, Christiaan Jonker, Heinrich Klaasen (wk), David Miller, Chris Morris, Dane Paterson, Aaron Phangiso, Andile Phehlukwayo, Tabraiz Shamsi, Jon-Jon Smuts. (UNI)

Widgets Magazine
Widgets Magazine
Widgets Magazine