BJP fields Sadhvi Pragya against Digvijaya in Bhopal

Last Modified Wednesday, 17 April 2019 (18:53 IST)
New Delhi: BJP on Wednesday fielded Malegaon-blast accused Singh Thakur from against former Madhya Pradesh chief minister Singh of the Congress.
Earlier, Sadhvi Pragya  formally joined the saffron party after a meeting with senior BJP leaders Shivraj Singh Chouhan, Ramlal, and Prabhat Jha in Bhopal.
A special court framed charges in the 2008 Malegaon blast case against Lieutenant-Colonel Prasad Purohit, Thakur and five others for terror activities, criminal conspiracy and murder, among others. Thakur is yet to be discharged by the special NIA court in the case.
Sadhvi Pragya will contest from Bhopal Lok Sabha seat after former Madhya Pradesh chief ministers Chouhan and Uma Bharti declined to contest from the constituency
Other nominees in the fresh list of the BJP include K P Yadav from Guna, Raj Bahadur Singh from Sagar, Ramakant Bhargav from Vidisha, Central Election Committee Secretary J P Nadda said in a statement here.
The 29 Lok Sabha constituencies of Madhya Pradesh will go to polls in four phases on April 29, and May 6, 12 and 19.(UNI)
Read more on : Digvijaya Bhopal Sadhvi Pragya