'Dipa Karmakar: The Small Wonder' bags biography of the year award

Last Modified Tuesday, 17 December 2019 (13:14 IST)
New Delhi:The artistic gymnast Dipa Karmakar's biography, 'Dipa Karmakar: The Small Wonder' was awarded the 'Biography of the Year' at here.
The book, co-authored by veteran sports journalists Digvijay Singh Deo , Vimal Mohan and Dipa's Coach, Bishweshwar Nandi, depicts the story of toil, passion, hard work and the definitive journey of Karmakar, from a sporting outpost to becoming the face of gymnastics in India. 
The biography, which is special in many regards, right from the foreword written by Nadia Comaneci - the first-ever gymnast to achieve a perfect ten in the sport, to documenting a journey which moves people and athletes not only at an emotional level. It also inspires people and athletes to never give up on their dreams.
The book was launched by Bharat Ratna, Sachin Tendulkar himself earlier this year and has a detailed account of every stage of Karmakar's life. 
Starting from her very childhood entailing her lows of being ridiculed, to her highs reminiscing a journey towards greatness and forging a legacy  the first Indian woman gymnast to win a medal at the Commonwealth games.
It also successfully attempting the death defying vault 'THE PRODUNOVA' at Rio 2016, a moment which catapulted her to global fame as she narrowly missed out on becoming the first Indian gymnast to win a medal at the quadrennial sporting extravaganza.
Speaking on the honour, Olympian and Khel Ratna Awardee, Karmakar said, ''I am really happy that my biography has been so well received and to win the Biography of the Year is an honour I cannot emphasise on how elated that makes me. 
''I am really glad that the people of the country have loved my story and all the credit goes to the authors who have documented each and everything in such a way which I even I couldn't imagine about. I would like to congratulate each and every person who has been involved in this journey and with the book, '' she added. 
Digvijay Singh Deo, who has successfully covered three Olympics, has served as a co-author to this book, as has Vimal Mohan ? a winner of the Ramnath Goenka Award for Excellence in Journalism.(UNI)