BJP gets 3 assembly seats in Arunachal Pradesh unopposed before election

Last Modified Friday, 29 March 2019 (11:33 IST)
ItanagarThe mood in camp in frontier state of Arunachal  Pradesh, which goes to polls on April 11 simultaneously for assembly and lok sabha polls, is upbeat with already winning three seats before a ballot has been cast.
Talking to UNI Ram Madhav,  North East Incharge of BJP, said for the first time Arunachal Pradesh, which borders China, will have a BJP government of its own.
Mr  Madhav said the initial trend is an indication of what is to come ahead. The BJP came to power in 2016 without winning an election after Chief Minister joined the BJP. The BJP had 12  legislators and was partner of the then Peoples Party of  Arunachal (PPA)  before Khandu joined BJP.
The trade off was mastered by North East Democratic  Alliance (NEDA) convenor Himanta  Biswa Sarma when became the second state after Assam to come under BJP rule.
The political musical chair in Arunachal  Pradesh is nothing new and as any other tribal state in the region the state has always sided with the party which is at centre. The strategically located state, close to China,  till 2019,has already recorded five governments under three chief ministers in its fiveyear term.
"We are overtly confident that BJP on its own for the first time will give people of Arunachal Pradesh a stable and steady government which was long overdue," Himanta Biswa Sarma  said, who is the saffron brigade's master strategist in North East India.
Apart from assembly win, BJP is also eyeing two parliamentary seats in the frontier state- Arunachal East and West. Arunachal West is being represented by Minister of State Kiren Rijiju and the Arunachal East is being represented by Ninong Ering of Congress who was denied ticket by the party this time. Ering is contesting the assembly elections from  Pasighat constituency.(UNI)