By-Poll results: BJP wins 2 seats Left bags 1 seat

Last Modified Friday, 27 September 2019 (18:11 IST)
wins Assemby seat in bypoll
Kottayam: Communist Party of India (Marxist)-led Left Democratic Front (LDF) Candidate Mani C Kappan on Friday won the Pala Asssemby seat in the byelection held on September 23  by a margin of 2,943 votes against United Democratic Front (UDF) candidate Tom Jose Pulikkunnel.
Mr Kappan secured 54,137 votes while Mr Jose got  51,194 votes. candidate N Hari finished third with 18,044 votes.
BJP retains Assembly seat in  bypolls
Hamirpur: BJP candidate Yuvraj Singh won the Hamirpur Assembly bypoll in Uttar Pradesh on Friday, by a margin of around 18,000 votes, defeating his nearest rival, SP nomineee Manoj Prajapati, in a four-cornered contest.
Official sources said the winner BJP candidate received 74,168 votes. while his rival SP got 56,397 votes.  BSP candidate Naushad Ali got 28,749 votes and Congress received 16,083 votes.Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath has thanked the voters for the landslide victory of the BJP in Hamirpur seat.
He also thanked the party workers and leaders for work, in enabling this win.The counting of votes for the bypolls commenced on Friday morning at 0800 hours amid tight security arrangements.
In the bypolls held on September 23, around 51 per cent of the over four lakh voters had exercised their franchise, which was incident-free amid marred by rains and poll boycott.The bypoll was required after BJP member Ashok Singh Chandel was disqualified after being convicted inn a murder case.
BJP wins by-poll in Tripura
Agartala: The teacher turned politician housewife Mimi Majumdar won Badharghat by-poll today as BJP candidate defeating her nearest rival of CPI (M), a sitting councilor of Agartala Municipal Corporation Bulti Biswas by a margin of 5,260 vote.
While Mimi Majumdar secured 20,471 votes, Biswas got 15,211 votes in the election. However, congress candidate Ratan Chandra Das got 9,101 votes. Election in Badharghat was held on September 23 last and there was no complaint from any party and the election was violence free where 79.29 per cent voters exercised their franchise.
In 2018 assembly poll, congress turned BJP candidate Dilip Sarkar won the seat by a margin of 5,448 votes. The seat left vacant following his death in April this year. The vote share of both BJP and Congress has reduced substantially in the by-poll compared to the assembly election last year.
In last year election, BJP candidate Sarkar had secured 28,561 votes and his nearest rival of CPI (M) sitting Rajya Sabha MP Jharna Das Baidya had got 23,113 votes, which has decreased to 20,471 and 15,211 respectively. However, the vote share of congress has increased from 505 to 9,101 votes.
The CPI (M) vote share in Badharghat has increased from 20 per cent to 33.12 per cent compared to last Lok Sabha poll, had held in April this year while BJP's vote share however, decreased to 44.58 per cent from 58 per cent in last Loksabha election.The BJP termed the victory as 'development and the march towards new Tripura'. 
The party spokesperson Nabendu Bhattacharjee said that people of in last 18 months see the change of governance and holistic development of the state under the chief minister Biplab Kumar Deb.The opposing CPI (M) and Congress have also congratulated their voters(UNI)