CP(I)M faces a national party to retain Tripura after 46 years

Last Modified Friday, 2 February 2018 (12:05 IST)
Ambassa : After long 46 years turned to be the second national party after to contest election against CPI(M) from 47 Ambassa (ST) constituency in the northern district of Dhalai here.

In the 47 Ambassa (ST) constituency CPI(M) always fought against regional parties since 1972 when Congress contested and won for the last time. In the assembly election of 1977 Congress made an alliance with regional (Upajati Juba Samiti)and the seat went to the TUJS. Then TUJS fought in 1983, 1988, and 1993. Around 1998, INPT (Indegenous National Party of Tripura) formed as TUJS dissolved and Bijoy Hrankhwal contested in 1998, 2003, 2008 and 2013. In 2013 he was defeated. 

This time main opposition BJP made alliance with regional (Indegenous National People Front of Tripura). But in this election BJP set their candidate Parimal Debbarma for Ambassa.According to poitical analysts, BJP candidate would grab victory.(UNI)