Jharkhand votes on 15 seats in the fourth phase polls on Monday

Last Modified Monday, 16 December 2019 (13:08 IST)
Ranchi: Polling will be held on 15 seats of the state in the fourth
phase of polls tomorrow in which nearly 48 lakh people are eligible to  vote.
A total of 221 candidates are in the race for these seats which  included 198 male and 23 female candidates. A maximum of 25 candidates  were in Bokaro seat while a minimum of 8 candidates were on the Nirsa  Seat.
Among these 15 seats Deoghar, Jamua and Chandankiyari are reserved for SC while the remaining are in the general category.
The number of candidates on these 15 seats are : Madhupur  (13), Deoghar (SC) (12), Bagodar (12), Jamua (SC) (14), Gandey (12),  Giridih (12), Dumri (15), Bokaro (25), Chandankiyari (SC) (15), Sindri  (16), Nirsa (08), Dhanbad (22), Jharia (17), Tundi (13) and Baghmara  (15).   
A total of 47,81,422 voters are eligible to cast their votes on these  15 seats which are spread across four districts of Deoghar, Giridih,  Bokaro and Dhanbad.
Addressing a press conference here, State's Chief Electoral Officer  Vinay Kumar Choubey said that on 10 seats polling will be held from  07000hrs to 1700hrs while on the remaining seats which included Bagodar,  Jamua, Giridih, Dumri and Tundi polls will be held from 0700hrs to  1500hrs.
He said that eligible voters will be able to cast their votes on  6,101 booths out of which 4,296 are located in rural areas and another  1,805 are in the urban areas. He said that among the booths in naxal  areas 587 have been declared very sensitive and 405 are sensitive and on  the other hand in non naxal areas 546 booths are very sensitive and  2,665 are sensitive.
Mr Choubey said that in this phase 9,902 ballot units, 7,628 control  units and 7,931 VVPATs will be used where as in Bokaro, Sindri, Dhanbad  and Jharia two EVMs will be used as number of candidates on these seats  was more than 16.
Prominent candidates who are in the race for these seats included  Labour Minister Raj Paliwar, Tourism Development Amar Kumar Bauri, Ragni  Singh, Raj Kishore Mahto and Dhullu Mahto.(UNI)