Over 5000 INC, AIUDF workers join BJP in Assam

Last Modified Wednesday, 20 January 2021 (11:08 IST)
Guwahati: Ahead of the assembly elections, more than 5000 workers from Congress and have joined the in various constituencies in in party’s membership drive in the past few months.

BJP has been conducting a membership drive in these various constituencies across the states to strengthen its political base, the party said.Three-time BPF MLA Banendra Kumar Mushary who represented the Gauripur constituency from 1996 to 2016, also joined the BJP on Monday during an induction ceremony at the Public Library in Gauripur.
BPF has had a stronghold in the Gauripur constituency, but AIUDF captured the seat with its part candidate Nijanur Rahman defeating Mushary in the 2016 assembly elections.Of the three assembly seats under the Dhubri election district at present BJP has a lone MLA in Golakganj while Dhubri and Gauripur constituencies have been occupied by AIUDF.(UNI)
Read more on : Inc Aiudf Bjp Assam