Polls to 58 RS seats in 16 states on March 23

Last Modified Saturday, 24 February 2018 (10:29 IST)
New Delhi: Biennial elections to 58 seats in 16 states will be held on March 23. Releasing the schedule here on Friday, the Election Commission said the notification for the same will be issued on March 5.The term of the members representing these seats is going to expire in April-May this year. 

These seats include ten from UP, six each from and Bihar, five each from West Bengal and Madhya Pradesh, four each from Gujarat and Karnataka, three each from Telengana,Odisha, Andhra Pradesh and Rajasthan, two from Jharkhand and one each from Chaattisgarh, Himachal Pradesh, Uttarakhand and Haryana. 

The Commission will also hold by-election to one Rajya Sabha seat of Kerala on the same date. The seat has fallen vacant following the resignation of Veerendra Kumar last year before the expiration of his term of office.

The Commission has directed that for the purpose of marking preference(s) on the ballot paper only integrated violet colour sketch pen of pre-fixed specification, provided by the Returning Officer, shall be used. No other pen shall, under any circumstances, be used in the above said elections.(UNI)