2nd T20I: South Africa beat India by six wickets

Last Modified Thursday, 22 February 2018 (11:05 IST)
Centurion: Skipper JP Duminy's 64 and Heinrich Klaasen's 69 lead to seal the victory against in the second match of the three-match T20 International series at the Super Sport Park here on Wednesday night.Needing 189 runs to win the match, the Proteas finishedthe match with an over and two balls to spare.While the Indian pacers did not do too badly, Yuzvendra Chahal's and Jasprit Bumrah's absence cost India dearly as made the equation easier for the hometeam, who had lost their openers Jon-Jon Smuts and Hendricks when the score was 38 at the end of five overs. 

While Duminy rotated the strike, Klaasen who had taken Indian attack to the cleaners hammering Chahal all around the park. Chahal conceded 64 runs in his four overs as Duminy and Klaasen put on 93-run stand in 49 balls.While India managed to dismiss Klaasen and Miller in quick succession, it was rather too late as South Africa managed to seal an early victory against India.

Earlier, and MS Dhoni scored unbeaten fifties as India scored 188 runs after put in to bat. While Pandey scored unbeaten 79 off 48 balls, Dhoni scored an unbeaten 52 off 28 balls. While India were in a spot of bother after losing Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan and Virat Kohli with not even fifty runs on the board, first Suresh and then Dhoni played crucial knocks as Pandey hit 79.

India had lost Rohit in the second over as Junior Dala trapped him before the wickets for 0. While Raina and Dhawan did not let Rohit dismissal bog India down, Duminy removed Dhawan in the fifth over before Dala struck again to send Kohli packing for 1 in the sixth over. India were in a spot of bother but Raina and Pandey steadied the ship with a 45-run stand. But Andile Phehlukwayo removed Raina in the 11th over as Proteas harboured hopes of restricting India to a modest total. But then, they had to deal with Dhoni’s experience and Pandey’s innovation as the two put up 98 runs off 56 balls. Earlier, South Africa skipper won the toss and opted to field first against India.(UNI)