India to host Men's T20 WC in 2021, 2022 edition in Australia

Last Updated: Friday, 7 August 2020 (21:47 IST)
Dubai:will host the Men's in 2021 while Australia, who were supposed to host the tournament in 2020, will now host the postponed edition in 2022, ICC confirmed on Friday.
The decision was taken at the ICC Board Meeting which was held via teleconference on Friday.
"The International Cricket Council (ICC) today confirmed that the ICC Men's T20 World Cup 2020 that was postponed due to Covid-19 will be held in in 2022. India will host the ICC Men's T20 World Cup 2021 as planned," the ICC said in a statement.
India will host the T20 World Cup in October-November with the final to be held on November 14. Australia will also host the tournament in October-November with the final to be played on November 13.Meanwhile, the 50-over World Cup will be held in India in 2023 between October and November with the final on November 26.
The ICC also postponed the Women's World Cup, which was scheduled to be held from February 6 to March 7 in New Zealand, until 2022 due to the novel coronavirus pandemic. 
The decisions were taken by the IBC (the commercial subsidiary of the ICC) following an extensive contingency planning exercise which has taken into account the health, cricket and commercial impact of COVID-19 around the world.
The ICC had confirmed the postponement of T20 World Cup 2020 in July, but it did not announce who will be hosting the 2021 and the 2022 editions.
''We now have absolute clarity on the future of ICC events enabling all of our Members to focus on the rescheduling of lost international and domestic cricket. We will now proceed as planned with the Men's T20 World Cup 2021 in India and host the 2022 edition in Australia,'' ICC Chief Executive Manu Sawhney said.
The ICC also said that the format of the ICC Men's T20 World Cup 2021 will remain same as it was for 2020 and all teams that qualified for that event will now participate in India in 2021. 
A new qualification process will be run for the ICC Men's T20 World Cup 2022.(UNI)
Read more on : India Australia T20 World Cup