India vs WI: Gayle to miss ODIs and T20 series

Last Modified Monday, 8 October 2018 (15:21 IST)
Bridgetown: opener won't feature in the ODIs & T20I series against India.West Indies Board announced its team for the limited-overs series against on Monday. Dwayne Bravo, Andre Russell, have also not been included in the squad.
The squads named for the Windies limited-overs matches in India have a number of new faces, to go with the return of Kieron Pollard and Darren Bravo.Chanderpaul Hemraj, the 25-year-old left-hand batsman, has been included in the Windies one-day international touring party for India, while Oshane Thomas, a 21-year-old right-arm medium pacer, and Fabian Allen, an aggressive right-hand batsman and left-arm spinner, found themselves in both the ODI and T20I squads.
All-rounder Andre Russel will miss out ODIs, but will play three T20Is against India. Other two senior campaigners- Kieron Pollard and Darren Bravo- due to their good performance in Caribbean Premier League will also feature in the T20 series.Pollard last played for the Windies in a T20I in September 2017, while Bravo hasn't been part of the playing XI, in any format, since November 2016.
South paw Gayle made himself unavailable for selection disclosed Courtney Browne, Chairman of the Selection Panel, while adding he is ready to be picked for home series against England and World Cup next year.
The white-ball exchanges will begin only on October 21 and Johnny Grave, the Cricket West Indies CEO, explained that the squads had been named early because "the team will have a camp before the start of the ODI series in Guwahati, so we had to select the squad before the start of the Super50 Cup, in order to organize flights and visas".
ODI squad: Jason Holder (c), Fabian Allen, Sunil Ambris, Devendra Bishoo, Chanderpaul Hemraj, Shimron Hetmyer, Shai Hope, Alzarri Joseph, Evin Lewis, Ashley Nurse, Keemo Paul, Rovman Powell, Kemar Roach, Marlon Samuels, Oshane Thomas
T20I squad: Carlos Brathwaite (c), Fabian Allen, Darren Bravo, Shimron Hetmyer, Evin Lewis, Obed McCoy, Ashley Nurse, Keemo Paul, Khary Pierre, Kieron Pollard, Rovman Powell, Denesh Ramdin, Andre Russell, Sherfane Rutherford, Oshane Thomas.(UNI)