Kohli-pollard shares contrary thoughts on Jadeja dismissal referral

Last Modified Monday, 16 December 2019 (18:18 IST)
Chennai: Indian Skipper expressedhis displeasure over the bizarre run out incident of RavindraJadeja after a late referral by the on field umpire duringIndia's innings in the first ODI against West Indies here onSunday. 
Kohli said ''We could have been 15-20 runs ahead had something not happened out there in the end"
 
In the 48th over, Jadeja seemed to have got through for a single despite a direct hit by Roston Chase at the non-striker's end. Initially, umpire Shaun George ruled it not out, without going up
for assistance.
 
However, a few seconds later replays giant screens in the ground revealed that Jadeja had not made his ground and West Indies quickly grabbed it to go up in a second appeal which prompted George to bring the third umpire into play.
 
Kohli looked displeased while all this was happening live and made it known in no uncertain terms at the post-match presentation. 
 
"The thought is simple. The fielder asked how was that and the umpire said not out. The dismissal ends there", he added.
 
''People sitting (and watching) on the TV outside cannot tell the fielders to tell the umpire to review it again'', a visibly upset Kohli said.
 
"I've never seen that happen again. I don't know where the rules are, where the line is drawn. I think the referee and the umpires have to see that incident again and figure out what needs to be done in cricket'', Kohli said. 
 
''The people sitting outside can't dictate what happens on the field and I think that's exactly what happened then'', he said.On the contrary, Windies captain Kieron Pollard said right 
decision was made at the end of the day.
 
''For me at the end of the day, the right decision was made. That's the most important thing if you're looking to better the sport, you're looking to get all the right decisions'', he said. 
 
''Again, for me, we appealed, the umpire didn't take it, didn't think it was necessary at that point of time, but eventually whatever took place, the right decision was made and that's what's most important'', Pollard said. 
 
A similar thing happened in the 2017 home season when Australia's Steven Smith seemed to ask his dressing room for help on a DRS call. (UNI)