Newzealand scalps 16 wickets of WI on day 3 of the 1st Test

Last Modified Saturday, 5 December 2020 (15:44 IST)
Hamilton: New Zealand forced the West Indies to suffer the embarrassment of follow-on on Saturday on the third day of the first cricket test and then conceded six wickets for the visiting team's 196 runs in the second innings. The innings reached the threshold of winning.
New Zealand declared their first innings by scoring 519 runs for seven wickets. West Indies' first innings was reduced to 138 runs and were forced to play follow-on. West Indies have lost six wickets for 196 runs in their second innings and are yet to score 185 runs to avoid an innings defeat.
On the third day of play for the Windies, Craig started playing ahead of Braithwaite (20 not out) and John Campbell (22 not out). But their partnership could not last long and Campbell was caught by in the hands of Williamson and sent to the pavilion. Campbell scored 26 runs in 73 balls with the help of two fours and a six.
The Windies 'innings collapsed as Campbell was dismissed and none of batsmen form a big partnership and the Windies' first innings was reduced to 138 runs. German scored 23, Brathwaite scored 21 and Roston Chase scored 11 while captain Jason Holder remained unbeaten on 25 runs.
For New Zealand, Southee took four wickets for 35 runs in 19 overs, Kyle Jamison gave 25 runs in 13 overs and Neil Wegner gave 33 runs in 15 overs & picked 2 wickets. While Trent Boult bagged 1 wkt for 30 runs in 17 overs. 
The Windies team batting during the follow-on was disappointing in the second innings as well and their six wickets fell for just 89 runs. However, Blackwood and stuck to the crease by the end of the day's play. A 107-run partnership for the 7th wicket had been formed. Blackwood is at the crease with an unbeaten 80 and Joseph 59 on Day 3 stumps.
In the second innings of the Windies, Dwayne Bravo scored 12, Brathwaite 10, Hold eight, Chase six, and Campbell two. For New Zealand, Wagner took two wickets for 62 runs while Southee gave 40 runs in eight overs, Bolt 47 runs in 10 overs, Jamieson 33 runs in 10 overs and Daryl Mitchell seven runs in three overs at the cost of 1 wicket each. (UNI)