Pakistan-South Africa to play 3 ODIs, 4 T20Is in April

Last Modified Friday, 12 February 2021 (17:06 IST)
Lahore: will travel to for a limited-overs series in April, comprising three ODIs and four T20Is, Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) announced on Friday.

Pakistan’s tour of South Africa was initially scheduled to comprise just three T20Is, but after a request from Cricket South Africa, the series will now comprise four T20Is, with the first two matches being played in Johannesburg, followed by two T20Is in Pretoria.
Before the T20Is get underway on April 10, a three-match ODI series will be played between the sides from April 2. A part of the Men’s CWC Super League, the first and third ODIs will be played in Pretoria, with Johannesburg hosting the second ODI on 4 April.
This will be Pakistan’s second series in the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup Super League. After defeating Zimbabwe 2-1 in November 2020, Pakistan are sitting fifth on the table. In contrast, this will be South Africa’s first outing in the league.
“Pakistan has proved their status over the years as one of the most dangerous limited-overs teams and I’m sure they will give the Proteas a stern test on the Highveld,” said Graeme Smith, the Director of Cricket.
“We will also have the much-anticipated ‘Pink ODI’ take place during the tour and that is something further to look forward to for the players, the fans, and all those associated with this iconic day.
“We are grateful to the for agreeing to our request within a short period of time to increase the length of the trip by adding in a fourth T20, which will give us some much-needed additional international content,” he added.
Pakistan will land in South Africa on 26 March and will undergo a quarantine period before entering the bio-secure environment and commencing inter-squad training.
Tour itinerary:
April 2- 1st ODI; SuperSport Park, Centurion
April 4 - 2nd ODI; Wanderers Stadium, Johannesburg
April 7 - 3rd ODI; SuperSport Park, Centurion
April 10 - 1st T20I; Wanderers Stadium, Johannesburg
April 12 - 2nd T20I; Wanderers Stadium, Johannesburg
April 14 - 3rd T20I; SuperSport Park, Centurion
April 16 - 4th T20I; SuperSport Park, Centurion (UNI)