PV Sindhu bags TOISA Sportsperson of the Year award

Last Modified Friday, 6 March 2020 (14:23 IST)
New Delhi:World champion was named Sportsperson of the Year at the fourth (TOISA) 2019 here on Thursday.
Rio Olympic silver medallist also got the Unbreakable Spirit of Sports award. Sindhu bagged a hat-trick of awards when she was named the Badminton Player of the Year in the female category, while B Sai Praneeth won the award among male shuttlers.
Former India football captain Bhaichung Bhutia was given the Lifetime Achievement award, while hockey legend and three-time Olympic gold medallist Balbir Singh Sr was honoured with the Icon of the Century award.
National badminton coach Pulella Gopichand won the Mentor of the Year award, while former shooter Jaspal Rana was recognised as the Coach of the Year.
Indian men's hockey was adjudged Team of the Year while the women's hockey side skipper Rani won the Inspiration of the Year award. It was double delight for hockey skipper Rani who was adjudged women hockey player of the year while drag-flicker Harmanpreet won the recognition in the men's category.
Young shooter Anish Bhanwala and women's hockey team forward Lalremsiami was selected for the Emerging Players of the Year awards while Saurabh Chaudhary and Manu Bhaker won the Shooter of the Year in male and female categories, respectively.
Olympic medallist boxer Vijender Singh was adjudged as the Youth Icon of the Year while India's limited-overs team vice-captain Rohit Sharma was named Cricketer of the Year.
India skipper Sunil Chhetri won the recognition in football, Deepika Kumari and Abhishek Verma won the Archer of the Year in female and male categories, respectively.
India's first world championship silver medallist boxer Amit Phanghal won the recognition among male boxers while Lovlina Borgohain bagged the award among female boxers. Meanwhile, Bajrang Punia and Vinesh Phogat were selected as the male and female wrestlers of the year.(UNI)