Imran Khan sworn in as Pakistan's 22nd PM

Last Updated: Saturday, 18 August 2018 (11:28 IST)
Islamabad:Cricketer-turned politician took oath as 22nd of on Saturday, a report published in Dawn said.
Pakistan (PTI) chief Mr Khan was elected as the after he outvoted opposition and Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) candidate Shahbaz Sharif  in a vote at the Pakistan's National Assembly on Friday. Mr Khan was backed by 176 members. His opponent, Shahbaz Sharif, received 96 votes.
Mr Khan (65) will be administered his oath by President Mamnoon Hussain at Aiwan-e-Sadr (the President House) at 9:15am (local time).
According to the programme outlined on the invitation cards, the ceremony began with the national anthem, following which the cabinet secretary will seek permission from the president to commence the ceremony.
Next up recitation (tilawat) of the Holy Quran, after which the oath will be administered and documents signed.Former Indian cricket star Navjot Singh Sidhu is among the special guests invited by Khan's team to attend the ceremony.
emerged as the biggest party in the July 25 polls, bagging 116 seats.Former three-time PM Nawaz Sharif was ousted from office in 2017 over corruption allegations surfaced in Panama paper leaks.
Subsequently, Mr Sharif was sentenced to jail. His brother, Shahbaz Sharif, led the PML-N party into the election.Mr Khan, who will lead the nation of 200 million population, has to face several challenges---mounting economic crisis, debt to International Monetary Fund, estranged relation with its northern neighbour Afghanistan, rising terrorism, insurgency in western province Baluchistan, cut in military aid by US and most importantly alienated relations with India.(UNI)