Day ahead of trust vote, Karnataka Assembly Speaker disqualifies 14 more rebel MLAs

Last Updated: Sunday, 28 July 2019 (13:08 IST)
Bengaluru: In a an unprecedented decision, Karnataka Speaker Ramesh Kumar announced disqualification of the remaining 14 rebel MLAs, including three from JD(S) and remaining from the Congress under the 10th schedule of the Anti-defection law here on Sunday.
With this the total number of dissident MLAs disqualified rose to 17. Last week the Speaker had disqualified three other who included two from Congress and an Independent.
With this disqualification 14 rebel MLAs with immediate effect, the effective strength of the 225-member of the House has been reduced to 208 and the half way mark is 105 in the House.
BJP which has formed the government after the fall of JD(S)-Congress government has a strength of 105 MLAs and another independent legislator supporting the saffron party. (UNI)