Dinakaran springs surprise, wins R K Nagar bypoll

Last Modified Sunday, 24 December 2017 (18:38 IST)
Chennai: Springing a surprise, T T V Dhinakaran, sidelined rebel leader and nephew of V K Sasikala, won the high-profile by-election by a margin of 40,707 votes.

Dhinakaran, the former Lok Sabha MP from Periyakulam, is the first Independent candidate to win from this prestigious seat, which was twice won by former Tamil Nadu Chief Minister in 2015 and 2016, whose death in December last year necessitated the bypoll.(UNI)