Jyotiraditya Scindia among RS candidates announced by BJP

Last Modified Thursday, 12 March 2020 (11:59 IST)
New Delhi: Within hours of joining the ruling (BJP), Jyotiraditya Scindia
on Wednesday figured among the party nominees for the scheduled for March 26.
Jyotiraditya Scindia, former Union Minister and senior Congress leader, will be the BJP candidate from Madhya Pradesh. He had quit the party on Tuesday and  joined the BJP this afternoon in the presence of a galaxy of leaders of the lotus party.  
The BJP has named Bhubaneswar Kalita as its nominee for the Rajya Sabha from Assam, Vivek Thakur from Bihar, Abhay Bhardwaj and Ramilaben Bara  from Gujarat as other candidates. 
The party has fielded Deepak Prakash as its candidate from Jharkhand, Lieseba Maharaja from  Manipur, Udayan Raje Bhosle from  Maharashtra and Rajendra Gehlot from Rajasthan.
The saffron party has given one seat each to its allies RPI (A) and BPF.Mr  Ramdas Athawale, Union Minister, will contest from Maharashtra and Buswajit Diamary from  Assam, according to a statement by the party national General Secretary Arun Singh here.(UNI)