LS elections to be held from April 11 to May 19 in 7 phase, counting on May 23

Last Modified Sunday, 10 March 2019 (17:38 IST)
New Delhi: The Election Commission on Sunday announced that the Lok Sabha election will be held in 7 phases starting from April 11 to May 19.

Chief Election Commissioner Sunil Arora said that the Model Code of Conduct (MCC) comes into effect from today itself in the entire country. Any violation will be dealt with in the strictest manner.
Total electorate in this will be 900 million, of which 15 million voters are in the 18-19 age group.
There will be approximately 10 lakh polling stations in this Lok Sabha Elections as compared to 9 lakh polling stations in 2014.