President Kovind gives Nari Shakti Puraskars to 12 outstanding women

Last Updated: Sunday, 8 March 2020 (15:54 IST)
New Delhi: President on Sunday presented Nari Shakti Puraskars to 15 women who demonstrated exemplary courage and stellar contribution towards empowerment of women on the occasion of International Women’s Day.

President Kovind gives Nari Shakti Puraskars to 12 outstanding women" width="740" />
Among those honoured with the “National Award in recognition of exceptional work for women empowerment” were Indian Air Force’s first women fighter pilots Mohana Singh, Bhawana Kanth and Avani Chaturvedi.
Rashmi Urdhwardeshe from Pune, Maharashtra, an automotive and R&D professional since 36 years, who has promoted women empowerment and has helped increase women’s employment ratio in auto industry and Padala Bhudevi from Srikakulam, Andhra Pradesh who has been working for the development of tribal women, widows and Podu land through a community-based organisation Chinnai Adhivasi Vikas Society were among the recipients.
Instituted by the Ministry of Women and Child Development, the awards were presented at a function held at Rashtrapati Bhavan Cultural Centre (RBCC), the honours for 2019 are from fields as diverse as agriculture, sports, handicrafts, afforestation and wildlife conservation, Armed Forces and education and are in recognition of their efforts in rendering distinguished services towards emancipation of women, especially vulnerable and marginalised women, an official release here said.
awardee from Kollam, Alappuzha, Kerala, Bhageerathi Amma, could not travel to Delhi to receive the award.
The other award winners were:  Bina Devi from Munger, Bihar; Arifa Jan - Srinagar, Jammu and Kashmir; Chami Murmu -Rajnagar, Saraikela Kharsawan, Jharkhand; Nilza Wangmo - Leh, Ladakh; Sardarni Mann Kaur - Patiala, Punjab; Kalavati Devi - Kanpur,  Uttar Pradesh; Tashi and  Nungshi Malik - both from Dehradun, Uttarakhand; Kaushiki Chakroborty - Kolkata, West Bengal; and the IAF trio of women fighter pilots Avani Chaturvedi -  Rewa, Madhya Pradesh; Bhawna Kanth - Darbhanga, Bihar; Mohana Singh - Agra, Uttar Pradesh.
The award acknowledges the exceptional contribution made by individuals and institutions, to celebrate women as game changers and catalyst of positive change in the society. These have contributed towards safeguarding women’s rights along with pushing the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development Goals. These awards are an effort to recognise women as equal partners in the advancement of society.
Before the award presentation ceremony, a special screening of ‘Swachh Bharat - India’s Sanitation Story’ was held at RBCC to showcase the massive behaviour change that has occurred across rural India under the Swachh Bharat Mission, and the role that women played in leading more than 55 crore people to shun the age-old practice of open defecation. (UNI)