Speaker accepts No confidance Motion against Modi govt for debate in LS

Last Updated: Wednesday, 18 July 2018 (16:26 IST)
New Delhi: The moved by member Kesineni Srinivas 
was on Wednesday accepted for debate in the Lok Sabha.Making the announcement, Speaker said she would fix the day and time for debate at a later stage.
As soon as the motion was moved by TDP MP from Vijaywada, several opposition members including from Congress were up on their feet to support it.After the head count, the Speaker allowed the motion to be taken up later.
Congress floor leader protested that as largest opposition party, the motion of no trust against the government moved by Congress party should have been accepted.
Speaker said, "I have gone by rules and the ruling of the Chair cannot be discussed here".
Ms Mahajan, however, said: "I did refer the names of all the members who have moved the no confidence motion".
Earlier, she said the Speaker's office had received the motions from several opposition members including from Mr Kharge and Mr K C Venugopal of Congress but she went by rules as the motion from TDP member had come first.Other opposition members who also moved the no trust motion include Tariq Anwar of NCP, N K Premchandran of RSP and Mohammad Salim of CPI-M.(UNI)