The JD(S)-Cong Coalition Government in Karnataka falls into deep crisis as 12 MLAs likely to resign

Last Updated: Saturday, 6 July 2019 (16:40 IST)
Bengaluru: In a sudden political development, the 13-month-old JD(S)-coalition government in fell into deep crisis on Saturday as about 12 MLAs from both the parties trooped into the Legislative Assembly Speaker K N Ramesh Kumar's chamber to handover their resignation letter to MLA post, top sources said.
In a dramatic development past noon, the MLAs entered the Speakers office even as Ramesh Kumar left office minutes earlier, after receiving hint that some sitting legislators in the government are going to quit their seats.
The crisis was looming large on the H D Kumaraswamy government for the past two months as there was no understanding between the coalition partners and diverse comments were flying thick and fast.
This culminated in at least 12 Congress and the JD(S) MLAs, reportedly decided to resign to their membership to the Karnataka Assembly, that may lead to collapse of the coalition government.
It was a shocker for the coalition government senior leaders as among those who have decided to quit included multi-time MLA and former minister Ramalinga Reddy, who confirmed that he had decided to quit his seat and leave Congress party.
Speaking to reporters on the podium of Vidhana Soudha he confirmed his stance but did not reveal his future move. ''I am quitting my MLA seat and what I can say that I am the only one who is doing it. I do not know how many more from Congress or the JD(S) MLAs would quit,'' he said.
When quizzed further he said he had made known his feeling earlier and do not wish to elaborate further. Reddy was accompanied by his daughter and Jayanagar Congress MLA Soumya Reddy.
Among the MLAs, who have reportedly decided to resign to the State Assembly include long time disgruntled legislator B C Patil, Ramesh Jarakiholi, Umesh Kamatalli, J N Ganesh, B Nagendra, Bhyrathi Basavaraj (all from the Congress), and H Vishwanath, Narayana Gowda and Gopalaiah (all from JD(S).
Vijayanagara Congress MLA, Anand Singh, has already submitted his resignation to the Assembly, last week.According to sources, two Independent MLAs, who were inducted to the Cabinet recently have also decided to resign to the cabinet and extend their support to the 105-member Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP).
In the 225-member Karnataka Assembly, the Congress has 78, 37, Independents 2, BSP 1 and one nominated.(UNI)
Read more on : Jds Congress Bjp Karnataka