BJP tally touches 75 after two new members take oath in upper house

Last Modified Friday, 21 June 2019 (16:21 IST)
New Delhi:Two new members on Thursday took oath as members of the Rajya Sabha.and took oath as member of the upper house. They were administered oath by chairman M Venkaiah Naidu.
Tasa has been elected on the seat that fell vacant after the  completion of the term of former Prime Minister Manmohan Singh. He is also the deputy leader of the BJP in Assam.  He was also a member of the 16th Lok Sabha.
For Mr Vaishya, this is his second term in the Rajya Sabha. He was earlier a member of the Upper House in 2008.
After administering oath to the new members, the chairman announced that Mr Thawar Chand Gehlot had been elected leader of the Hosue in the Rajya Sabha. He was also introduced to the members of the House.(UNI)