UP govt put 25 mafia dons, aides behind bars, seizes assets worth Rs 1,000 cr in 4 years

Last Modified Thursday, 8 April 2021 (17:55 IST)
Lucknow: The government on Thursday claimed that 25 and their accomplices have been brought to book and their illegal assets worth Rs 1,000 crore have been seized.
During four years of the Adityanath government, UP police nabbed gangsters like Mukhtar Ansari, Atiq Ahmed and many others, who were enjoying freedom during previous regimes, an official statement said.
The Yogi Government busted many criminal gangs operating in the state and nabbed mafia dons and their associates.
For example, the court sentenced dreaded gangster Akash Jat to three and seven years imprisonment in two different cases while his aide Amit Bhura has got jail term for three years and one year in the same cases.
The Government is also collecting the expenses for demolition and evacuation of the properties from the gangsters. The seized properties of the gangsters' associates is estimated at worth Rs 537 crore.
Meanwhile, the Yogi Government has also revoked more than 190 arms licences of notorious gangsters, their families and aides. Until December last year, 3699 accused had been arrested and sent to jail while 11,930 cases were registered under the Gangsters Act. Apart from this, the National Security Act (NSA) has been imposed against 534 accused.
It has also tightened the noose around those running illegal slaughter houses and demolished several such abattoirs. The state police has also cracked down on gangs involved in parking collection rackets, illegal fish trading, illegal coal business and the land mafia.The notorious gangsters and their associates are serving prison term in different jails of the state.
Mukhtar Ansari from Yusufpur Mohammadabad of Ghazipur district is lodged in Banda Jail, while Atiq Ahmed, a resident of Khuldabad in Prayagraj district, is in Central Jail in Sabarmati, Gujarat.
Similarly, Brijesh Kumar Singh alias Arun Kumar Singh, hailing from Chaubepur of Varanasi district, is imprisoned in Varanasi Jail, whereas Om Prakash alias Babloo Srivastav, a resident of Hasanganj of Lucknow district, is in Barelily Jail.
Besides, Munir, a resident of Sayohara police station area of ??Bijnore district, is lodged in Mandoli Jail, Delhi; Khan Mubarak from Hanswar police station area of ??Ambedkaranagar district in Hardoi Jail; Amit Kasana from Loni in Ghaziabad district in Delhi Jail; Akash Jat from Adarsh ??Mandi in Shamli district in Ghaziabad Jail; Udham Singh from Sarurpur in Meerut district in Azamgarh Jail; Yogesh Bhadaur in Siddharthnagar Jail; Ajit alias Happu in Bareilly Jail.
Sushil alias Moonch is lodged in Kanpur Jail; Sanjiv Maheshwari alias Jeeva in Lucknow Jail; Sundar Bhati alias Netaji in Hamirpur Jail of Kasna; Anil Dujana alias Anil Nagar in Gautam Budhanagar Jail; Singhraj Bhati in Gorakhpur Jail; Ankit Gurjar in Maharajganj Jail; Subhash Singh Thakur in Fatehpur Jail; Dhruv Kumar Singh alias Kuntu Singh in Ballia Jail; Umesh Rai alias Gaura Rai in Rampur Jail; Tribhuvan Singh alias Pawan Kumar in Mirzapur Jail; Mohammad Salim and Mohammed Sohrab in Fatehgarh Jail; and Mohammad Rustom in Kanpur Jail.(UNI)