Major relief to AIADMK, HC upholds disqualification of 18 rebel MLAs

Last Modified Thursday, 25 October 2018 (11:32 IST)
Chennai: In a big boost to the ruling , the Madras High
Court on Thursday upheld Tamil Nadu Assembly Speaker P Dhanapal's decision to disqualify 18 rebel AIADMK MLAs, owing allegiance to expelled leader TTV Dhinakaran, under the provisions of the Anti-defection law.

Delivering the verdict, third Judge Mr Justice M Sathyanarayana, who was appointed by the Supreme Court following a split verdict on June 14, concurred with the findings of the then Chief Justice Ms Indira Banerjee that the court could not interfere in the ruling of the Speaker.
Today's order also vacated the interim order issued during the split verdict that restrained the Election Commission from holding byelections to the 18 seats, which were declared vacant by the Speaker.(UNI)