Australia defeats India by 4 runs in the first T-20

Last Modified Wednesday, 21 November 2018 (17:33 IST)
Brisbane: has started the challenging home tour with a winning note. Put into bat first by Indian captain Virat Kohli, Australia had a slow start. The first boundary came in the third over of Bhuvneshwar Kumar. Later scoreboard was accelerated by Aaron Finch and Chris Lynn. Maxwell's cameo of 46 runs in 23 balls took Australia to 153 in 16 overs when rain stopped the game. 

When the match resumed, the play was confined to 17 overs each.  Australia managed to score only 5 runs in the last over. A sum of 16 runs was added as per the Duckworth Lewis method and had to chase a target of 174 runs.

Basking on the Blistering start by the openers Rohit Sharma and India looked very much in control. In the middle overs, India lost wickets in quick succession but Dhawan kept on dealing in boundaries. In 13th over Shikhar Dhawan departed after scoring 76 runs in 42 balls. Rishabh Pant and Dinesh Karthik showed some grit but in a quest to chase both went pavilion. On the last ball, 9 runs were required and Kuldeep Yadav hit the ball for a boundary on square leg. Australia won the first T-20 by 4 runs and is 1-0 in the series.  was adjouurned man of the match for taking 2 wickets by giving 22 runs in 4 overs.