Lasith Malinga appointed ODI and T20I captain for NZ tour

Last Modified Saturday, 15 December 2018 (12:59 IST)
Colombohas been appointed captain of Sri Lanka's ODI and T20I sides for the the tour of New Zealand, with Niroshan Dickwella set to serve as vice-captain.Angelo Mathews also returns to both squads after being dropped against England for fitness issues.
Malinga's appointment comes after Dinesh Chandimal served as ODI skipper in the 3-1 loss to England, while Thisara Perera took the reigns as T20 captain. Chandimal's appointment came on the back of Mathews' dismissal from the captaincy. Chandimal and Perera remain in both sides but without any leadership credentials to their name,an ICC report on Friday said.
With the leadership baton being passed over to the veteran fast-bowler, it represents a quick ascension for Malinga, who only made his return to international cricket in September, after a year of issues with his fitness. Nevertheless, he has impressed in his comeback, and took 5/44 against England in Dambulla. 
Leg-spinner Seekkuge Prasanna is a notable inclusion in the 17-man squad, with Sri Lanka having to find a suitable replacement for Akila Dananjaya, who has been suspended for an illegal bowling action. 
Dananjaya is Sri Lanka's leading wicket-taker in ODI cricket this year, with 28 wickets from 16 matches.The three-match ODI series is set to begin on January 3, followed by a one-off T20I 
on January 11.
ODI and T20I squad: Lasith Malinga (c), Niroshan Dickwella (wk), Angelo Mathews, 
Danushka Gunathilaka, Kusal Perera, Dinesh Chandimal, Asela Gunaratne, Kusal 
Mendis, Dhananjaya de Silva, Thisara Perera, Dasun Shanaka, Lakshan Sandakan, 
Seekkuge Prasanna, Dushmantha Chameera, Kasun Rajitha, Nuwan Pradeep, 
Lahiru Kumara.(UNI)
Read more on : Nz Lasith Malinga New Zealand