Team India eyes fresh start against Windies after World Cup debacle

Last Modified Saturday, 3 August 2019 (12:19 IST)
Florida:Putting behind the disappointment of the World Cup Semifinal loss, Virat Kohli led Indian Cricket team will lock horns with team  in the first match of three T20 Internationals in here in US on Saturday. 
The Team will play three T20 Internationals, three ODIs and two Test matches during the month-long West Indies tour, beginning on August 3.This Windies tour will be an acid test for Virat Kohli, whose captaincy was questioned after the semi-final loss in the World Cup 
India has rested some of their key players like Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami, Kuldeep Yadav and Hardik Pandya and selected a young T20I squad for the series. In batting, India has one of the best top three in the world in form of Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan and Virat Kohli and the Team India's  success in this series will depend on how these three players perform on top order.
Dhawan will be back in action after recovering from the hand injury while his partner Rohit Sharma will like to continue his great World Cup form. Captain Virat Kohli will also be eager  to answer his critics through his bat,  and with his leadership skills.
The likes of KL Rahul, Shreyas Iyer and Rishabh Pant will feature in India's middle order and they will to look to utilise the given opportunity. 
India has good all-rounders like Krunal Pandya and Ravindra Jadeja who can be a match winners with both bat and ball on their given day. 
However in bowling, India lacks international experience and the likes of Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Khaleel Ahmed and Navdeep Saini Navdeep Saini, Deepak Chahar and leg spinner Rahul Chahar will have to bowl to their potential to stop the mighty Windies batsmen. 
On the other hand, Caribbean are one of the most dangerous teams in the world in T20Is as they are loaded with match-winners players in their team.
Young Carlos Brathwaite will lead the Windies side and the likes of Evin Lewis, Shimron Hetmyer, Nicolas Pooran, Andre Russell will look to play their natural attacking cricket against Indian bowlers. 
The explosive Kieron Pollard and spinner Sunil Narine are also back in the side while Sheldon Cottrell, Oshane Thomas, Anthony Bramble, Keemo Paul, Khary Pierre will  be responsibe to restrict Indian batsmen. 
India: Virat Kohli (capt), Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul, Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Rishabh Pant (wk), Krunal Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Washington Sundar, Rahul Chahar, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Khaleel Ahmed, Deepak Chahar, Navdeep Saini.
West Indies: Carlos Brathwaite (capt), John Campbell, Evin Lewis, Shimron Hetmyer, Nicolas Pooran (wk), Kieron Pollard, Rovman Powell, Keemo Paul, Sunil Narine, Sheldon Cottrell, Oshane Thomas, Anthony Bramble, Andre Russell, Khary Pierre.(UNI)