Under-performing Indian openers axed from playing XI for third Test

Last Modified Tuesday, 25 December 2018 (13:01 IST)
MelbourneThe Board of Control for Cricket in (BCCI) on Tuesday announced the playing XI for the Melbourne Test against Australia, where they have inducted Rohit Sharma and all-rounder Ravindra Jadeja. 
Rohit Sharma missed the Perth Test due to an injury, but  was declared fit for the third Test, while ace spinner has failed to recover from an abdominal strain. 
Having won the first Test at Adelaide, the Indian team lost the second Test by a hefty margin of 146 runs. With the loss, the Indian team selection came under the scanner. More so, the Indian openers and had to face the heat as yet again both of them failed to score runs for India. However, the Indian team drafted Mayank Agarwal and Hardik Pandya into the squad for the rest of the series. 
India's Playing XI for the 3rd Test: Virat Kohli (C), Ajinkya Rahane (VC), Mayank Agarwal, Hanuma Vihari, Cheteshwar Pujara, Rohit Sharma, Rishabh Pant (WK), Ravindra Jadeja, Mohammed Shami, Ishant Sharma, Jasprit Bumrah(UNI)