BJP retains Madhya Pradesh & NDA Bihar in 1st post COVID poll

Last Modified Wednesday, 11 November 2020 (10:34 IST)
Patna: After daylong high voltage drama with sometimes appearing all set to form the government, while a moment came late evening which created the impression that RJD led Grand Alliance would form the government, final results ultimately went in favour of NDA winning 125 seats, just three seats more than magic figure of
122 while Grand Alliance could bag only 110 seats in Assembly Elections.
As per the final results, NDA won 125 seats, Grand Alliance won 110 seats while others got 8 seats. In NDA, JD (U) won 43 seats, 74 seats, HAM 04 seats and VIP also 04 seats while in Grand Alliance,RJD won 75, Congress 19, CPI(ML) 12 , CPI 02 and CPI(M) won 2 seats. Among others, AIMIM won 5 seats, BSP and LJP won one seat while one Independent candidate also emerged victorious.
With LJP damaging the prospects of JD(U) heavily, NDA could manage only 125
seats, just three more than magic figure of 122 required to form the government in total strength 243 members in Bihar assembly.
JD(U)which remained dominant in NDA for the last 15 years since 2005 when it was voted to power, got reduced to 43 seats while BJP managed to improve its tally from 53 to 74. Chief Minister I will now find it difficult to dominate in NDA after its tally decreased to 43, much lower than BJP.
Results of Bihar assembly election proved the fact that  people voted for development, in  reposing faith  in Mr Kumar who has been at the helm of affairs for the last 15 years. Electorate did not believe in tall promise of RJD leader Tejaswi Prasad Yadav who had declared that 10 lakhs youths would be given government jobs if he got the opportunity to serve the state.
Senior BJP leaders including Deputy Chief Minister Sushil Kumar Modi, Bhupendra Yadav Sanjay Jaiswal and Mangal Pandey expressed their gratitude to people of Bihar for giving another term to NDA to serve the state. Party workers exploded crackers and distributed sweets in both BJP and JD(U) state headquarters to Celebrate the occasion. 

MP by-polls: Lotus blooms in 17 places, hand holds 7
Bhopal:The ruling saffron camp scored an emphatic triumph in on Tuesday as it emerged victorious in 17 of 24 Assembly constituencies whose by-election results were announced until 2100 hrs even as the Congress was a distant second with a score of seven seats ? in the remainder areas both parties are leading in two each.  
It goes without saying that the outcome rendered veteran leader Shivraj Singh Chouhan's seven-month-old administration more robust. However, it was not all hunky dory as two of his lieutenants ? Adal Singh Kansana and Girraj Dandotiya ? were vanquished by wide margins in Sumaoli and Dimani respectively by the Congress' Ajab Singh Kushwah and Ravindra Singh Tomar. In Dabra, a third minister ? Imarti Devi ? was losing ground to Mr Suresh Raje (Cong) when reports last came in.
Indeed, the prestige of a dozen ministers was at stake. In Sanchi (Scheduled Castes), Dr Prabhuram Choudhary won by in excess of 63,000 votes. Bhander witnessed a pitched battle and a wafer-thin win as the Congress candidate and the Bahujan Samaj Party's erstwhile state president Phool Singh Baraiya was defeated by a mere 51 votes by the Bharatiya Janata Party's Raksha Santram Saroniya.
Former minister Govind Singh Rajput took Surkhi while at Sanwer ex-minister Tulsiram Silawat is ahead of the Congress' Prem Chand Guddu who represented the party ? from Ujjain ? in the 15th Lok Sabha. Minister Rajvardhan Singh Dattigaw is the victor from Badnawar.
Mr Chouhan described the day as a triumph of humility and a vanquishing of haughtiness. Addressing thousands of workers at the BJP's state office, the senior politician expressed gratitude to Premier Narendra Modi, Home Affairs Minister Amit Shah and party President Jagat Prakash Nadda. Highlighting the fact that the electorate rejected the Congress' 'negative politics' and its baseless allegations of 'treacherous' and 'saleable' leaders, he alleged, "The predecessor Congress dispensation converted the state into a den of graft and placed development work on the back-burner."
Union Agriculture Minister Narendra Singh Tomar averred that the outcome again proved the masses' confidence in Mr Chouhan's sensitive leadership.
Accepting his party's debacle, Congress state commander Kamal Nath underlined that the mandate is supreme though "we left no stone unturned vis-?-vis our endeavour to convince the populace. I hope that the BJP dispensation shall pay attention to the interests of our cultivator brethren, provide employment to youth, respect womenfolk and ensure their safety."
Voting was conducted last Tuesday in 19 districts and the turnout was a healthy 70.27 per cent of an electorate exceeding 63.67 lakh. The fortunes of 355 aspirants were thus sealed.
Twenty-five of the seats were rendered vacant owing to resignations of lawmakers and the rest on account of demises. The scene after the 2018 Vidhan Sabha elections was that the Congress emerged victorious in 27 of these whereas a lonely saffron banner fluttered over Agar.
Damoh did not witness polling now as it fell vacant very recently due to Mr Rahul Singh (Cong) bowing out of office and then entering the BJP.