RS Election: Who surged to Upper house from which state?

Last Updated: Friday, 19 June 2020 (22:05 IST)
Jyotiraditya, Diggy and Solanki elected to RS from MP
Bhopal:Erstwhile central minister Jyotiraditya Scindia (Bharatiya Janata Party), former chief minister Digvijaya Singh (Congress) and Mr Sumer Singh Solanki (BJP) were on Friday declared elected to the Rajya Sabha from while Mr Phool Singh Baraiya (Cong) could not make it to the portals of the Council of States.
Counting of votes concluded late evening. All 206 lawmakers participated in the electoral process the break-up being BJP 107, Congress 92, Bahujan Samaj Party two, Samajwadi Party one and four independents.
This is Mr D Singh's second successive tenure in the while the other two victors are 'freshers'  in a manner of speaking  vis--vis the House of Elders though Mr Scindia commands considerable Lok Sabha experience. At this juncture, he is regaining health in the national capital. The other three contestants were present on the Assembly premises during voting and until announcement of the outcome.
NPP nominee Dr. Kharlukhi elected as RS member from Meghalaya
Shillong:National People's Party (NPP) candidate Dr. Wanwei Roy Kharlukhi was on Friday elected as the Rajya Sabha member from defeating his Congress rival, Kennedy Khyriem by 20 votes.
With this win, the NPP will now represent Meghalaya in both the Houses of Parliament with Agatha Sangma being the sitting Lok Sabha member from Tura.
Dr. Kharlukhi, who is also the president of NPP Meghalaya State unit, was the consensus candidate of the ruling Meghalaya Democratic Alliance government headed by Chief Minister Conrad Sangma.
The NPP candidate garnered 39 votes in his favour out of the total 58 valid votes that were cast in the 60-member house. The Congress candidate secured 19 votes in his favour.
One vote polled was declared invalid. While lone Khun Hynniewtrep National Awakening Movement (KHNAM) legislator, Adelbert Nongrum abstained from voting in protest against the NPP voting in favour of the Citizenship Amendment Act in the Lok Sabha.
The lone Rajya Sabha seat from Meghalaya fell vacant after the term of Congress leader,  Wansuk Syiem expired on April 12 this year.
Dr Kharlukhi is known close to the former Lok Sabha Speaker Purno Agitok  Sangma family since the latter co-founded the Nationalist Congress Party with Sharad Pawar and Tariq Anwar.
Chief Minister Conrad Sangma has congratulated Dr. Kharlukhi on being elected as a Rajya Sabha member and thanked all the MDA partners for bestowing their support.
The MDA comprises Bharatiya Janata Party,  United Democratic Party, People's Democratic Front, Hill State People's Democratic Party,  Nationalist Congress Party   and one Independent member. 
Shibu Soren and Deepak Prakash reach to Upper House of Parliament
Ranchi: Three time former chief minister and JMM supremo Shibu Soren and state BJP president Deepak Prakash won the Rajya Sabha elections from Jharkhand.
Deepak Prakash got the maximum number of 31 votes while JMM supremo Shibu Soren popularly known as Guruji among his followers got 30 votes and Shahzada Anwar of Congress stood a distant third with only 18 votes. To get into Rajya Sabha a candidate needed 27 votes of first preference. 
In the 81 member Jharkhand Assembly, 79 MLAs were eligible to vote as Dumka and Bermo seats are vacant. The Dumka seat fell vacant as Chief Minister Hemant Soren who had got elected from Barhet and Dumka resigned from Dumka kept Barhet seat while Bermo seat fell vacant as 6 time MLA and Congress heavyweight leader Rajendra Singh passed away recently.
 As far as the numeric strength in the Jharkhand Assembly was concerned, Shibu Soren was sure shot of victory as JMM alone has 29 MLAs. On the other hand, the BJP had 26 of its own voters and it had committed support from 2 MLAs of AJSU and 2 Independent MLAs including Saryu Rai and Amit Yadav.
Since the beginning, Congress party was behind in the race as it had only 15 of its own MLA and was banking on support of Indpendent MLAs Bandhu Tirkey, Pradeep Yadav, Kamlesh Singh of the NCP and Binod Singh of CPI-ML and lone RJD MLA Satyanand Bhokta. 
Four YSRCP candidates elected to RS from AP
Amaravati, Jun 19 (UNI) All the four YSRCP candidates were elected to Rajya Sabha from on Friday after the counting of votes polled had ended.
The four candidates were--- Deputy Chief Minister Pilli Subhash Chandra Bose, Minister for Animal Husbandry and Fisheries Mopidevi Venkataramana, Alla Ayodhya Rami Reddy and Industrialist Parimal Natwani. 
With the winning of four RS seats in the election, the YSRCP strength in the Upper House of Parliament has risen to 6. The candidate of Principal Opposition Telugu Desam Party (TDP) Varla Ramaiah tasted defeat as he was polled only 17 votes despite the TDP having 23 MLAs in the Assembly. 
The lone MLA of Jana Sena Party R Vara Prasad casted his first preference vote to  the YSRCP candidate Pilli Subash Chandra Bose.The polling for the four Rajya Sabha seats began at 9 am today and concluded at 4 pm. The counting of votes began thereafter.
Chief Minister Y S Jagan Mohan Reddy and former Chief Minister N Chandrababu Naidu were among those who casted their votes. There are 175 MLAs in the Assembly but 173 votes were polled in the election with two MLAs had abstained from voting.
All the four victorious YSRCP candidates secured 38 votes each and the party polled a total of 152 votes. Interestingly, there are four invalid votes in the election. Three TDP dissident MLAs Karanam Balaram, Vallabhaneni Vamshi and Maddala Giri  cast their votes in the election but they intentionally made their votes invalid to escape from the whip. 
Another TDP woman MLA Adireddy Bhavani cast her vote but it was declared as invalid.Mr Reddy congratulated the four party winning candiates in the election.

Maharaj Leishemba of BJP wins lone Rajya Sabha from Manipur
Imphal: Maharaj Leishemba Sanajaoba of BJP has won the lone Rajya Sabha seat for Manipur. The Leishemba got 28 votes while  Tongbram Mangibabu of INC got 24 votes. The counting of votes was delayed after protests from Congress and AITC over disqualification of some members and allowing three MLAs to vote inspite of directive from the High Court.
Leishemba is the grandson of the last Manipur King Boddhachandra and various organisations had opposed the entry of the titular king into politics.  Polling to elect the member of Rajya Sabha from Manipur began today at 9 am and concluded at 4 pm at the Assembly premises amid tight security.
T Mangibabu the Congress candidate said the election was not free and fair. He said why four MLAs were disqualified while three were not. How can an MLA be disqualified immediately he asked. Such acts done today will not be seen anywhere in the world. It was nothing but show of strength and strangulation of democracy he added.T Mangibabu of Congress and Leishemba of BJP were in the fray. Eight MLAs didn't vote as they were disqualified so 52 votes were cast.
Entry of people were restricted in the Assembly premises and precautions were taken up in view of the Covid 19 outbreak. The election was held in the backdrop of withdrawal of support to the N Biren Singh government by nine MLAs and claim to form government by SPF formed by Congress, NPP , AITC and an Independent MLA.Results of other states are awaited.(UNI)