After Tamonash Ghosh, another TMC MLA Samaresh Das dies of Covid-19

Last Modified Monday, 17 August 2020 (12:03 IST)
After the passing away of Trinamool Congress' Falta MLA due to two months back, another party Legislator from Egra succumbed to the pandemic in the wee hours of Monday.He was 76.
Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee expressed her profound grief at the demise of Das and sympathised with the bereaved family.Condoling his demise, she said Das' passing away caused a vacuum in the political world.Das, an MLA from East Midnapore's Egra Assembly constituency, was diagnosed with a number of symptoms of the Coronavirus.
His samples were collected along with his entire family and tested.Although the others tested negative, the veteran MLA was found infected with the contagion.He was first admitted to Barama Hospital at Panskura and later transferred to Beliaghata ID Hospital here following deterioration of condition.

He was transferred to AMRI Hospital in Salt Lake on July 24 after his condition further deteriorated.He had been on ventilation since then.Das won the Assembly byelection in 2009 and became MLA of East Midnapore's Egra Assembly.Former State Transport Minister and veteran CPI(M) Trade Union leader Shyamal Chakraborty also passed away due to Coronavirus.

Meanwhile, the Covid-19 toll in Bengal rose to 2,428 with the death of 51 persons on Sunday, while the tally touched 1,16,498 with 3066 new confirmed cases.According to the latest State Government Health bulletin, the active cases accounted for 27,299, while the number of discharged stood at 86,771.The percentage of discharged rose to 74.48 per cent.
The total number of samples tested as on Sunday stood at 13,14,772 with 32,286 tested in till yesterday.While the city recorded the highest number of 1070 deaths so far, surrounding districts of North 24 Parganas and Howrah came second and third respectively with 565  and 294 fatalities.
While another contiguous district of South 24 Parganas accounted for 135 deaths, the toll in Hooghly stood at 85, Darjeeling 50,  Paschim and Purba Midnapore 21 and 34 respectively, Malda 21, Murshidabad 24 and Nadia 23, Paschim Bardhaman 19, Purba Bardhaman 10, Jalpaiguri 22, Uttar Dinajpur 15, Dakshin Dinajpur 18,  Birbhum 8, Alipurduar 6, Kalimpong 1 and Cooch Behar 1.(UNI)