MHA deploys additional 71 CAPF companies for Bengal Election

Last Updated: Sunday, 11 April 2021 (13:14 IST)
New Delhi: In view of continuous violence in the ongoing Assembly Election in West Bengal, the Ministry of Home Affairs (MHA) has decided to deploy additional 71 companies of the Central Armed Police Force (CAPF) for the peaceful conduct of the in West Bengal, with immediate effect.

The move comes after the request from the Election Commission of India amid the recent incidents of violence in the State.
The Centre has already deployed 1,000 companies of the CAPF, better known as Central paramilitary forces to conduct free and peaceful elections in the State.
“ECI has requested to deploy additional 71 companies of CAPFs (Central Armed Police Forces)/SAPs (State Armed Police)/IRs (India Reserve) Bns (Battalions in for AE-2021 related duties. In pursuance of the recommendations of the ECI vide order dated 10.04.2021, it has been decided to deploy additional 71 coys (companies) of CAPFs..immediately in the State of West Bengal for Assembly Election-2021 related duties,” the MHA letter faxed on Saturday to the Chief Secretary, Home Secretary and Director General of Police of West Bengal, reads.
As per the MHA letter, among 71 addition Battalions will be consisting of 12 companies of the Central Reserve Police (CRPF), 33 companies of the Border Security Force (BSF), 13 companies of Indo-Tibetan Border Police (ITBP), four companies of Central Industrial Security Force (CISF) and nine companies of Sashastra Seema Bal (SSB).
With the deployment of the 71 companies of CAPFs, a total of 1,071 companies CAPFs, SAPs, and IR Battalions will be available in West Bengal for election-related duties.
Hence, out of a total of 1,071 companies of the Central Forces includes 253 companies of the CRPF, 217 companies of the BSF, 149 companies of CISF, 171 companies of SSB, 110 companies of ITBP, and 55 Companies of the Railway Protection Force (RPF).
In addition to this, the component of the SAPs/IR Battalion includes 30 companies from Uttar Pradesh, 20 companies from Madhya Pradesh, eight companies from Arunachal Pradesh, five companies from Sikkim, 10 companies from Manipur, 12 companies from Jharkhand, 14 companies from Nagaland, five companies from Mizoram and 12 companies from Bihar. These forces will also be stationed for counting duties and guarding EVMs.
“The State government is requested to work out the detailed deployment plan, in consultation with the respective CAPFs and Chief Force Coordinator. The movement and deployment of CAPFs shall be coordinated by CRPF,” the letter reads further.
Inspector General of South Bengal Frontier Headquarter Ashwini Kumar Singh has been re-nominated as Force Coordinator/ State Nodal Officer for the deployment of forces during Assembly Election-2021 in West Bengal, the MHA communication said, adding that the necessary transportation, logistics, and accommodation as also other arrangements should be made by the State administration, as per the Covid 19 guidelines. (UNI)