Widgets Magazine

Ashwin, Jadeja again left out, Dinesh Karthik back in squad for NZ series

Last Modified Sunday, 15 October 2017 (11:12 IST)
Mumbai: Senior players Ravichandra Ashwin and Ravindra Jadeja failed to make a cut in the 15-member squad for the three-match ODI series against New Zealand from October 22 here.

Announcing the squad on Saturday here the BCCI did not include both the all-rounders in the ODI squad, while was included.However, KL Rahul, Mohammed Shami and were also not included in the squad.

The 15-member squad would be led by Virat Kohli while Rohit Sharma and Shikhar Dhawan would be the first-choice openers.
Batsman Ajinkya Rahane after being left out in the T20 series against Australia is back in the team.

Opening batsman Dhawan missed out ODI series against Australia to attend his ill wife and is now back for the 50-over contest.He did play in T20Is series against Australia that ended in a 1-1 draw.The selection committee has gone for the same middle order comprising of Manish Pandey, Hardik Pandey, Kedar Jadhav and MS Dhoni while there haven’t been any changes in the spin department too.

With Mohammed Shami and Umesh Yadav, the onus to lead the pace bowling attack against the Kiwis would now be on Bhuvneshwar Kumar.
Widgets Magazine
Widgets Magazine